top of page

ensemble freymut

freymut-by-Theresa-Pewal-232-2.jpg

© Theresa Pewal

The Viennese music group ensemble freymut has made a name for itself in the early music scene by successfully combining musical brilliance with its distinctive innovative spirit. In its new concert series HORIZONS - Early Music INNOVATIVE, the ensemble presents three of its current cross-discipline projects at three unconventional concert venues in Vienna.

In 2024, ensemble freymut is a proud member of REMA - European Early Music Network. In the 2022|23 season, the group was the Featured Ensemble of Jeunesse Austria. As part of this cooperation, the ensemble performed 15 concerts in different formats throughout Austria. In January 2023, it made its debut at the festival "Resonanzen" at the Wiener Konzerthaus with its children's program "Freyen Muthes durch die Welt". In early July 2021, ensemble freymut was awarded the WDR Prize at the International H.I.F. Biber Competition for its performance with singer Johanna Falkinger. The musicians accepted the invitation of Westdeutscher Rundfunk and were guests at WDR3 Funkhauskonzert in February 2022 with their French program "Le Triomfe".

In its current project, "The Future of the Past | Homage to Sara Levy", ensemble freymut combines compositions from the 18th century with contemporary music by Daniel Serrano. Another project - "Dazzling Sounds in the Darkness | Dülon's World" - draws on the exciting life story of the blind flautist Friedrich Ludwig Dülon (1769 - 1826) for a musically sensual journey through darkness, sonic experience, and light. With the 2023 season, the ensemble assumed the artistic direction of ViertelBarock, the OPEN AIR festival for baroque music in Vienna's Servitenviertel. Furthermore, the ensemble performed at the Telemann Center in Magdeburg and opened the Festival Fête Baroque in CMA Ossiach. In September 2023, ensemble freymut celebrated its debut in Asia with two concerts in Chuncheon, South Korea.

The musicians have received musical coaching and ensemble lessons from Stefan Gottfried, Johannes Weiss, Augusta Campagne, and Wolfgang Glüxam, among others. They continue to receive new ideas and inspiration from master classes with Barthold Kuijken, Christophe Coin, and Anna Besson. The ensemble has received scholarships from the Werner Tripp Memorial Fund, the Gordon Murray Foundation, and is a prize winner of the International Berlin-Bach Competition. The name freymut is both a message and a mission: writers of the 18th century often resorted to pseudonyms in order to share their thoughts freely with the public. In this sense, it requires 'frank bravery' (freyen Muth) to publish a work with a critical message. Likewise, it requires honest courage to interpret music in a fresh and original way. This idea accompanies and inspires the musicians in their artistic work.

About: Biografie
bottom of page

top of page

ensemble freymut

freymut-by-Theresa-Pewal-232-2.jpg

©Theresa Pewal

​Die Wiener Musikgruppe ensemble freymut hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren in der Alte Musik Szene einen Namen gemacht, indem sie musikalische Brillanz mit einem ausgeprägten Innovationsgeist erfolgreich kombiniert. In seiner neuen Konzertreihe HORIZONS - Alte Musik INNOVATIV präsentiert das Ensemble in der ersten Jahreshälfte 2024 drei seiner aktuellen spartenübergreifenden Projekte in der Sargfabrik, dem brick-15 und der TheaterArche. 


Mit 2024 ist ensemble freymut stolzes Mitglied der größten Alte-Musik-Community Europas, dem REMA - European Early Music Network. In der Saison 2022|23 war ensemble freymut Featured Ensemble der Jeunesse Österreich. Mit 18 Konzerten in unterschiedlichen Formaten war das Ensemble in ganz Österreich zu erleben. Weiters debütierte das Ensemble im Jänner 2023 mit seinem Kinderprogramm  „Freyen Muthes durch die Welt“ im Rahmen des Festivals „Resonanzen“ im Wiener Konzerthaus. Im Juli 2021 wurde ensemble freymut im Rahmen des Internationalen H.I.F. Biber-Wettbewerbs für seine Darbietung mit der Sängerin Johanna Falkinger mit dem WDR-Preis ausgezeichnet. Die Musiker:innen folgten der Einladung des Westdeutschen Rundfunks und waren im Februar 2022 mit ihrem französischen Programm  „Le Triomfe“ zu Gast im WDR3 Funkhauskonzert. 


In seinem aktuellen Programm „The Future of the Past – Hommage à Sara Levy“ verbindet ensemble freymut historisch im 18. Jahrhundert verortete Kompositionen mit zeitgenössischen Kompositionen von Daniel Serrano. „Dülons Welt“ nimmt die spannende Lebensgeschichte des blinden Flötisten Friedrich Ludwig Dülon (1769–1826) zum Ausgangspunkt für einen musikalisch-sinnlichen Parforceritt durch Finsternis, klangliches Erleben und Licht. Mit der Saison 2023 übernahm das Ensemble die künstlerische Leitung von ViertelBarock, dem OPEN AIR Festival für Barockmusik im Wiener Servitenviertel, konzertierte im Telemann-Zentrum in Magdeburg. Im September 2023 feierte das Ensemble mit zwei Konzerten sein Asien-Debüt in Chuncheon, Südkorea.


Musikalische Coachings und Ensembleunterricht bekamen die Musiker:innen unter anderem von Stefan Gottfried, Johannes Weiss,  Augusta Campagne und Wolfgang Glüxam. Im Zuge von Meisterkursen u. a. bei Barthold Kuijken, Christophe Coin und Claire Genewein erhält das ensemble freymut immer wieder neue Impulse. Das Ensemble erhielt Stipendien des Werner Tripp Memorial Fonds, der Gordon Murray Stiftung und ist Preisträger des Internationalen-Berliner-Bach Wettbewerbs. Der Name freymut ist zugleich Botschaft und Programm: Schriftsteller:innen des 18. Jahrhunderts griffen oft auf Pseudonyme zurück, um ihre Gedanken frei mit der Öffentlichkeit teilen zu können. In diesem Sinne erforderte es freyen Muth, ein Werk mit kritischer Botschaft zu publizieren. Neben dem Verfassen von literarischen Texten und dem Komponieren in neuen Stilen bedarf es auch freyen Muth, Musik auf frische Art zu interpretieren. Dieser Gedanke begleitet und inspiriert die Musiker:innen in ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen.

About: Biografie
bottom of page